Defending a DWI in Texas

Sullo & Sullo's DWI Attorneys will DEFEND YOUR DWI CHARGES. Let Us Help You.

If you have been arrested on charges of DWI in Texas or DUI in Texas, it is extremely important that you contact Houston DWI Lawyers to help you deal with the aftermath of your DWI in Texas. Whether you are looking at a DWI in Texas First Offense, are concerned about ALR Hearings in Texas, or believe your Field Sobriety Tests, Breathalyzer Tests or Blood Alcohol Level Tests had serious issues, the Houston Criminal Lawyers of Sullo & Sullo can help you with your DWI in Texas. It is likely you are anxious and stressed following your Harris County Arrest for DWI. We understand those feelings, and can help alleviate some of that anxiety by dealing with the Harris County District Attorney, working to help you obtain Occupational Licenses in Texas and offering Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations.

Selecting the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: As highly experienced Houston DWI Attorneys we believe we can help you obtain a better outcome to your DWI in Texas. You may have the following questions: “Is a DWI a Felony in Texas?” and “What is the difference between DUI in Texas vs DWI in Texas?” We can answer those questions and many more. Do not leave your future to chance, and do not wait, hoping your DWI in Texas will go away on its own—it will not. The Sullo & Sullo Houston Criminal Lawyers are ready to help you with the following issues related to your DWI in Texas or DUI in Texas:

Researching the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Field Sobriety Tests in Texas - Our Houston DWI Lawyers can help you if you agreed to the Field Sobriety Tests, then did not pass those tests. While Field Sobriety Tests are used by police officers to assist them in determining your level of impairment, the results can definitely be challenged. The Sullo & Sullo Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers know that the inaccuracies of the field sobriety tests can be high—as high as 30 percent overall, with some tests being more problematic than others. In some cases, people who are totally sober are unable to pass the Field Sobriety Tests, and these tests may be used improperly to convict you of DWI in Texas. Having one of our experienced Houston DWI Lawyers to help decipher and challenge the results of your Field Sobriety Tests, then defend you against your DWI in Texas charges can make a huge difference in the eventual outcome of your Harris County Arrest for DWI in Texas.

Hiring the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Breathalyzer Tests in Texas - The Breathalyzer Test has just as many—if not more—problems as the Field Sobriety Tests. If you are pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence, you will be asked to take Harris County Breathalyzer Tests in addition to Field Sobriety Tests. Depending on your BAC result (0.08 percent is the legal limit for an adult, 0.04 percent for a person with a commercial license, and those under 21 may have no detectable levels of alcohol in their system) you could be placed under a Harris County Arrest. There are many different issues surrounding the Breathalyzer Test or Intoxilyzer Test which can render the results of the test invalid including the temperature of your breath, your gender, your individual health or health condition, your diet, whether the machine has been maintained and calibrated, and whether the arresting officer is well-trained in using the breathalyzer.  

Checking for the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: The Texas BAC Calculator - There is a significant level of misinformation out there regarding Texas BAC Levels. Although 0.08 is the BAC at which you are considered impaired—and would be subjected to a Harris County Arrest—in truth, even if your BAC is below 0.08 percent, you could still be arrested if the officer believes you are too impaired to drive. Because alcohol tolerance varies widely from one person to the next, BAC is not always an accurate indicator of impairment. Whether you are a chronic drinker, your genetics, your body weight, your body fat, your gender, whether you consumed food prior to or while you were drinking and a number of other factors can all determine your actual level of impairment. Generally speaking, once a person’s BAC is between 0.06 and 0.09, there will be some impairment of balance, speech, vision, reaction time and hearing. If your BAC tested high, our experienced Houston DWI Attorneys can be your advocate, and can attempt to negotiate with the Harris County District Attorney on your behalf.

Looking for the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: The Police Pullover Procedure - The police pullover procedure could be significant in your DWI in Texas charges. A police officer must have probable cause before he or she can legally stop you, and certainly before your vehicle can be searched. Probable cause means a police officer must have a reasonable suspicion that a traffic violation or crime has been committed. A driver weaving back and forth on the roadway would certainly rise to the level of probable cause, as would virtually any actual traffic infraction. On the other side, just because you are out driving at 3:00 a.m. in the morning—but not breaking any traffic laws—does not give a police officer the right to pull you over. If the police pullover procedure was not done by the book, your Houston DWI Attorneys can use this on your behalf while defending your DWI in Texas.

Searching for the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: DWI in Texas First Offense - If you are facing a DWI in Texas First Offense, you may wonder whether your DWI in Texas will be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. Thankfully, most DWI in Texas First Offense charges in the state of Texas (which do not involve aggravating factors) will be charged as a Class B misdemeanor. While not as serious as a felony, these are nonetheless serious charges, and can result in days in jail, a license suspension from three months to one year, and a fine as high as $2,000. If, however, you had a minor in the car, you injured another person or you were traveling at an excessive speed, then your penalties could escalate as well. You could also be required to attend a DWI intervention or education program, to pay an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 each year for three years, and an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. The Houston DWI Attorneys at Sullo & Sullo can help defend you against charges of DWI in Texas First Offense.

Learning about the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Occupational Licenses Texas - After you have requested your ALR Hearing in Texas to contest your license suspension, you may be able to apply for an Occupational Driver’s License—a special restricted license which you could be eligible for. You will have a much easier time obtaining an occupational license if you have Houston DWI Lawyers on your side. An Occupational Driver’s License is issued when your license has been suspended due to a DWI in Texas. If you are granted an Occupational Driver’s License Texas, you will be allowed to operate a non-commercial vehicle in one or more of the following situations: performing essential household errands, engaging in school-related activities, or to and from work. It can be extremely inconvenient to be without a driver’s license therefore an occupational license can make a huge difference.

Finding the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter - DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter is an extremely serious charge, with extremely grave penalties. If you have been charged with DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter, you need to have a thorough understanding of Texas DWI laws, or have experienced Sullo & Sullo Houston DWI Attorneys working on your behalf. It is a very real possibility that you could face time in Harris County Jail Texas if you are convicted for DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter. DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter applies when an intoxicated person operates a motor vehicle and causes the death of another human being. The charge will be a second-degree felony, with a potential punishment of 2-20 years in prison, and a fine as large as $10,000, although those penalties can increase, according to the circumstances. The DWI Attorneys at Sullo & Sullo can defend you against charges of DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter.

Evaluating the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: DUI vs. DWI in Texas - A DWI in the state of Texas is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, however could potentially be increased to a Class A misdemeanor if your BAC was over 0.15 percent. Both Class A and Class B misdemeanor charges can bring serious repercussions, both legal and otherwise, requiring experienced Houston DWI/DUI attorneys to defend your charges. While DUI means driving under the influence, the difference lies in the age of the accused—those under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI rather than DWI. A DUI in the state of Texas is a Class C misdemeanor. A person under the age of 21 could also be charged with a DWI if his or her BAC is high enough. A minor convicted of DUI could also be eligible to have the conviction expunged once he or she turns 21.

Criteria for the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Is a DWI a Felony in Texas? - You could find yourself facing a DWI in Texas Felony if you drove while impaired with a minor under the age of 15 in your vehicle, your impaired driving resulted in a car accident in which another person suffered serious injury, this is your DWI in Texas Third Offense or you committed DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter in which a person died after your intoxicated state caused an accident. If you are convicted of DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter, you could face from 2-20 years in prison, and a fine as large as $10,000. If your impaired driving caused injury to another person, you could serve from two years to 10 years in prison, and pay a fine as large as $10,000. If you are convicted of a DWI in Texas with a child passenger, you could serve time in a Texas state jail for anywhere from 180 days to two years. You could also be sentenced to community service for a felony DWI in Texas conviction.

How do I find the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Houston DWI Classes / Harris County DWI DIVERT Program - Depending on the circumstances surrounding your Harris County Arrest for DWI in Texas, you could qualify for the Harris County DWI DIVERT program. This is a program specially designed for individuals charged with  a DWI in Texas First Offense, and can help you avoid serious penalties such as time in Harris County Jail Texas. Once you have successfully completed the DWI DIVERT program, your DWI in Texas charges can potentially be dropped. DIVERT probation lasts for 1-2 years, your case can be dismissed, and you may be able to have your case expunged. If you accept a Harris County DWI DIVERT program, you must enter a guilty plea until completion of the program, then all charges will be dropped. Another potential penalty for a DWI in Texas is being ordered to attend a DWI education or intervention program. You will be required to complete one of these programs prior to having your driver’s license reinstated. The Houston DWI Lawyers at Sullo & Sullo can inform you more about the DWI DIVERT Program and whether you might qualify or not. Sullo & Sullo's Houston DWI Attorneys are Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers with Payment Plans and they offer Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations.

Who is the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: DUI in Texas - In the state of Texas, a person of any age can be convicted of DWI in Texas if that person’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. A person of any age can also be convicted of DWI in Texas if he or she appeared to lack the “normal use of mental or physical faculties” due to ingesting an excess amount of alcohol, a legal or illegal drug, or any other substance. That being said, the state of Texas also has specific laws which apply only to underage drivers who drive after drinking alcohol or ingesting drugs. Texas has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving, meaning even the smallest amount of alcohol or drugs in a minor’s system can trigger a DUI in Texas. In other words, there is no legal limit for a person who is under the age of 21 when it comes to drinking and driving. If there is a barely traceable amount of alcohol or drugs in the system of a person under the age of 21, then that person could be charged with DUI in Texas. If the person under the age of 21 has a BAC of 0.08 or higher, he or she could be charged with DWI in Texas instead of DUI in Texas. The penalties for DWI in Texas are considerably more severe than those for DUI in Texas, so it is in your best interests to let experienced Houston Criminal Defense Attorneys defend your charges following your Harris County Arrest. While you would rarely spend time in Harris County Jail Texas for a DUI in Texas, you could definitely spend time behind bars if you are convicted for a DWI in Texas. Individuals facing charges of DUI in Texas, contact the Houston DUI Attorneys at Sullo & Sullo. The Houston DUI Attorneys at Sullo & Sullo want to help you fight the DUI charges against you. They offer Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations and are Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers with Payment Plans.

Determining the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Penalties for a DUI in Texas - The penalties for a DUI in Texas will vary, depending on the age of the offender. A driver who is under the age of 17 will face a Class C misdemeanor. If convicted, the young driver could face a fine as large as $500, a minimum 60-day license suspension and from 20-40 hours of community service. Both the driver and his or her parents could be required to attend an Alcohol Awareness Course. Those between the ages of 17-20 who are arrested for driving under the influence will face a Class B misdemeanor, and the penalties will be determined in part by whether the driver has any other infractions. A driver with prior convictions who is convicted of DUI in Texas could face fines as high as $2,000, time in Harris County Jail Texas from 72 hours to 180 days, and a one-year driver’s license suspension. If you are facing a DUI in Texas, it could be in your best interests to contact a Houston DWI Lawyer as soon as possible. The Houston DWI Attorneys at Sullo & Sullo offer Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations and are Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers with Payment Plans.

Deciding on the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Texas DWI Laws, Offenses and Penalties

  • A DWI in Texas First Offense is a Class B misdemeanor;
  • A BWI (boating while intoxicated) in Texas First Offense is a Class B misdemeanor;
  • A DWI in Texas with a BAC at or over 0.15 percent will face a Class A misdemeanor;
  • A DWI in Texas First Offense with open container enhancements is a Class B misdemeanor;
  • A DWI in Texas Second Offense is a Class A misdemeanor;
  • A BWI in Texas Second Offense is a Class A misdemeanor;
  • A DWI in Texas Third Offense is a third-degree felony;
  • A BWI in Texas Third Offense is a third-degree felony;
  • A third or subsequent DWI in Texas or BWI in Texas with one prior state prison sentence is a second-degree felony;
  • A third or subsequent DWI in Texas or BWI in Texas with two prior state prison sentences will receive enhanced felony punishments;
  • DWI in Texas Intoxication Assault is a third-degree felony;
  • DWI in Texas Intoxication Manslaughter is a second-degree felony, and
  • DWI in Texas with a child passenger younger than 15 years is a state jail felony

Selecting the Best Criminal Defense Attorney Near Me for a DWI in Texas: Defending a DWI in Texas - If you are charged with DWI in Texas, speaking to experienced Houston DWI Lawyers should be your very first goal following your Harris County Arrest for DWI in Texas. There are a number of Harris County Criminal Court preliminary motions which can be made by Houston DWI Attorneys. Texas DWI Laws can be complex, and there can be many issues associated with Harris County Field Sobriety Tests, Harris County Breathalyzer Tests and Harris County Blood Alcohol Level Tests which can allow your Houston DWI Attorneys to challenge the evidence. Constitutional Laws may have been violated during your Harris County Arrest, and your arresting officer may have made some serious mistakes which would render your Harris County Arrest invalid. It is likely you will have many questions for your Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer following your Harris County Arrest for DWI in Texas, and the Houston DWI Lawyers at Sullo & Sullo will be in your corner, protecting your rights and your future. Sullo & Sullo offers Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations, and they are Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers with Payment Plans.

Choosing the Best Criminal Defense Attorneys for Your Houston DWI Case - Any Harris County Criminal Court Charge of DWI in Texas (or DUI in Texas) requires immediate, high-quality, highly experienced Houston DWI Lawyers. The Sullo & Sullo Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers believe you deserve the very Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Houston to represent you in Harris County Criminal Court. We understand Texas DWI Laws and the Constitutional Laws that will determine the validity of your Harris County Arrest. We know how to properly evaluate and challenge the validity of suspect Breathalyzer Tests, Field Sobriety Tests, and Blood Alcohol Level Tests. We understand that good people can make a single, bad decision, and we want to help.

How do I find an Affordable Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me? And How Much Does a Lawyer Cost at Sullo & Sullo? Many Harris County Criminal Court Defendants are searching for Cheap Lawyers to defend them in court. At Sullo & Sullo, we strive to keep the quality of our criminal representation high, while simultaneously keeping our costs low. We aspire to be the Best Criminal Law Firm in Houston. We are Houston Criminal Defense Lawyers with Payment Plans, and we believe you deserve our Houston Criminal Lawyer Free Consultations which can help you explore all your options, determining the best course of action. Following your Harris County Arrest, allow the Sullo & Sullo Houston DWI Attorneys to try and negotiate with the Harris County District Attorney to keep you from being sentenced to Harris County Jail, Texas.

Receive an Immediate Response
ANDREW SULLO IS A TOP 100 NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYER 2013 • 2014 • 2015 • 2016 • 2017 • 2018 • 2019
Obtener una Respuesta Inmediata
Andrew Sullo – 100 Mejores Abogados Nacional | 2013 • 2014 • 2015 • 2016 • 2017


#1

ON YELP'S LIST OF
THE BEST LAWYERS IN HOUSTON*

*AS OF APRIL 2019



Andrew Sullo has been named a

TOP 100 NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYER*
2013-2019

*BY THE NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYERS


CALL NOW FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION (855) 632-7912 CALL NOW FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION (713) 839-9026 CALL NOW FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION (713) 335-9485


Andrew Sullo is a recipient of the

AVVO CLIENT'S CHOICE AWARD*
FOR 2019

*GIVEN BY AVVO


Justice

Andrew Sullo is a Member of the

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF JUSTICE
2013-2019

*GRANTED BY THE AAJ


IF YOU OR A LOVED ONE WERE SERIOUSLY INJURED DUE TO THE NEGLIGENCE OF ANOTHER, CONTACT SULLO & SULLO IMMEDIATELY.
CALL NOW
(855) 632-7912
CALL NOW
(713) 839-9026
CALL NOW
(713) 335-9485

GET LEGAL HELP